GRAHAM DUNNING

LIVE at SQUIRMISH AT THE OASIS Friday 27th September 2013 : 6pmgraham-dunning

For this event I’ll present a pseudo-scientific investigation into the musicality of noise. The experiment will try to prove the hypothesis that by using exclusively non-musical (noise) inputs, it is possible to create a musical (non-noise) output. For the experiment I will define “noise” as the kind of sounds normally excluded from music, and hence use tape hiss, record crackle, radio static, and outside environmental sounds as my inputs. I will sample, layer and collage these sounds to present something approaching music.

As an artist I make things in lots of different formats, but generally to do with either Sound or Found Objects in some way. My background is in experimental music and this continues into the art I make and how I go about it. I use experimentation and play as a main part of my making process. I also like to set myself restrictions for my projects similarly to the way scientific experiments are conducted. Noise – as unwanted sound like record crackle or tape hiss – often features in my work, and a visual equivalent in dirt, dust or decay. I often try and repeat a visual process with audio, and vice versa. I like to think about Time as a concept and its implications on our everyday lives: How people store their memories, in personal archives – photographs, audio journals, post-it notes – and what becomes of those archives. I find discarded objects interesting in themselves, for the stories that they suggest or that can be read into them. Collecting things has always held a fascination for me, both to do myself and to look at the way others do it.

Follow Graham here

Leave a Reply

